Sheriff's Office

The Sampson County Sheriff's Office is provided for within the North Carolina Constitution. Sheriffs are elected for four-year terms by the citizens of the county in which the sheriff serves. According to common law the Sheriff is considered to be the chief law enforcement officer of a county. The Sheriff and employees of the Sheriff, deputies, detention officers and civilians, make up the Sampson County Sheriff’s Office. 

The Sampson County Sheriff’s Office is a full service law enforcement agency charged with enforcing the law, investigating crimes, apprehending criminals, providing custody and control of arrested persons through our detention facilities, and serving the court system by service of civil and criminal process and furnishing court security. The Sampson County Sheriff’s Office consists of the Office of Sheriff, Administration, Patrol Division, Bailiffs, Special Investigation Division, Criminal Investigation Division, Civil Division, Domestic Violence Division, Office and Detention Center Staff.



carSampson County Law Enforcement Center

Sampson County 
Sheriff's Office
Phone: (910) 592-4141
Fax: (910) 592-8641

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday
8 am to 5 pm

Physical Location
112 Fontana Street
Clinton, NC 28328

Jimmy Thornton
Sampson County Sheriff